Janet M. Fierberg Scholarship

The Janet M. Fierberg Scholarship Fund in Sociology was endowed by I. Martin Fierberg and Janet M. Fierberg, an alumna of UConn who studied Sociology and had careers in Social Work. Two scholarships of a minimum of $2,000* each will be awarded this year to outstanding students in their Junior or Senior year at UConn who are planning to pursue graduate study in Social Work or Sociology or first year students in the University of Connecticut School of Social Work.
Applicants must be sociology majors or minors, first year students in the University Of Connecticut School Of Social Work, or students who have applied to and will be accepted into the University Of Connecticut School Of Social Work. All awards will consider need and future professional promise.

To apply, please complete the information form on the next page and submit it with the following materials:
1.A letter of application in which you discuss your career interests in Social Work, or Sociology and relevant experiences in school, work or elsewhere;
2.A copy of your transcript; and
3.A statement of your financial situation that describes your resources, debts, and need.

Please submit your application by email:
Social Work applications and questions should be directed to the Office of Student and Academic Services at
Sociology applications should be directed to Katherine Covey:
For further information, please e-mail Katherine Covey ( or Kim Price-Glynn (

The deadline for applications is March 30, 2018 at noon.


Arnold and Sandra Dashefsky Student Award for Excellence

To be eligible for the scholarship, students must be:

  1. Incoming or continuing graduate or undergraduate student enrolled full time in CLAS
  2. Be majoring in Sociology or related fields.
  3. Demonstrate outstanding academic achievement in one of the following topics:

American Jewry, prejudice discrimination, racism, or anti-semitism.

For the undergraduate award, nominations must be made by instructors who should provide in writing reasons for how the student meets academic excellence in the above topics.

Graduate students may self-nominate but need a letter of recommendation from a faculty member endorsing their nomination and academic excellence in the above topics.

Each award is for $250 and letters of nominations are due March 30, 2018 to Katherine Covey (


Ron Taylor Award 2018

The Ron Taylor Award honors Professor Ronald L. Taylor, who served as Head of the Department of Sociology from 1981 to 1986.  The award is made annually for the best paper by a graduate student in the Department of Sociology.  In addition to the departmental recognition, the award includes a monetary prize.  Papers for courses, for conference presentation, or for publication completed after January 2017 are eligible.  In the case of co-authored papers, all authors must be graduate students in the department.  Only one submission per student is permitted, with a maximum length of 12,000 words.  Papers are to be submitted in Word format only and will not be accepted if they are submitted in PDF format.

Please submit an electronic copy of your paper to Kathy Covey.  Your name should not appear on the paper.  The award will be announced at the conclusion of the semester.

The deadline for submission is March 30, 2018 at noon.  Please direct any questions to the Chair of the Awards Committee, Kim Price-Glynn (


Michael L. Dunphy Scholarship Award

The Sociology, History, and Political Science departments alternate in making an award of $250 for an outstanding graduate student who has:

  • exceptional academic credentials
  • financial need, and
  • scholarly interest in any or a combination of the following fields:

American politics, society, culture, and history.

The Graduate Program Committee has recommended as a threshold for academic excellence that applicants be post MA and have earned a GPA of a least 3.5 and as evidence of the student’s interests the topics of theses, dissertations, or papers submitted for publication. The committee also recommended that the applicant be within eligibility for departmental funding.

Applications must include:

  • a statement indicating why the applicant thinks he or she should receive the award
  • a curriculum vitae
  • a transcript
  • a brief statement of financial need, and
  • a statement that the applicant is currently within her or his funding cycle (i.e., not beyond 6th year in program)

Student materials are submitted electronically during the spring semester.  The winner of the award is announced in April.

Return to Top